To Judge a Book By It’s Cover?

Untitled Document

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’); ga(‘create’, ‘UA-42381852-1’, ‘abookloversretreat.blogspot.com’); ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Yes or no? Do you judge the books you purchase by the cover? I will admit, I have passed up some very good stories because the cover wasn’t appealing to the eye (or MY eye). A recent book I read and reviewed opened my eyes to this flaw. I’m SO glad I was asked to review this particular book because it was a fantastic read (4.5 stars!). It showed me, though, that I have a very bad habit. I don’t even read the back cover of a book if the cover isn’t pleasing to look at UNLESS it’s a favorite author of mine (those are automatic purchases). This is where the dilemma comes in. Authors that are new to me seem to get overlooked and I realized that is unfair to the authors and me. They lose sales and ratings and I lose out on a fantastic story. Is this okay? No!


Because of this, I have decided to add a new feature to my reviews. I will now be rating the covers as well as the story itself. What’s the purpose of this? Hopefully by using a rating system for the covers we can ALL learn something. Authors can see that covers can make or break a sale and therefore, if they so choose, make needed improvements on their next book. You and I? We can learn that not all books should be judged by their covers. Maybe seeing the cover rating along with the book rating will help you to judge whether to purchase a book on ALL aspects, ie: cover, blurb, author. My rating system is below for future reference.



What about you? How do you decide whether to purchase a book? By the cover? Author? Blurb? Feel free to leave a comment and share your feelings on the subject.






Leave a Reply

