A Little About Friendship and Me

Untitled Document (function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’); ga(‘create’, ‘UA-42381852-1’, ‘abookloversretreat.blogspot.com’); ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Hi fellow book lovers! I usually post reviews and new releases, all things book related, but today I wanted to share a recent day out of my life and a little story from the past. In January 2009 I met someone online that has become one of the best friends I have ever had. Who knew an online friendship could mean so much or make such an impact on my life but it has definitely made it’s mark.

Don Antisdel has become my very best friend and I can’t thank God enough for sending me such a special angel. He is quite a few years older than I am but he has been my rock on more than one occasion and I will be forever grateful. I want to share a story with you from my life that happened a few years ago (2010 to be exact).

The year started out like any other with nothing extraordinary going on but by May I knew something was definitely wrong. I started feeling tired and weak, My heart would pound like it was jumping out of my chest, I started keeping terrible headaches and by July I could barely swallow. I asked God for help and wisdom to know what was wrong. Nothing I was doing was working. Every doctor I went to sent me to another and NONE could find anything wrong. I felt like I was going crazy and I think the doctors thought I WAS crazy. I was getting sicker by the day and no one knew why. My prayers had become more frequent and I started to feel that God wasn’t listening. What was going on and why was I feeling this way? I was at my rope’s end when God brought to light what was causing my illness. Through my brother-in-law, He led us right to the root of the problem. Black mold had found a hold in our home and it was literally draining the life from me.

We lived in the house where I grew up and, honestly, it had seen it’s better days. We lost EVERYTHING we owned, literally, right down to the socks on our feet but I was out of the environment and I was getting better! Praise God for seeing me through yet another battle!

But this post isn’t all about me, it’s about the special Angel God sent directly into my path. Like I said, I met Don in January of 2009 and he has been there for me on numerous occasions. When I lost my Dad in September 2009 as a result of lung cancer he helped me get through it and that was the most devestating time in my life. A month and a half before we lost my 47 year-old cousin to lung cancer and 7 months later we lost my Aunt to a brain aneurysm. All on my Dad’s side of the family.


Daddy and me in May 2006

Well, this time in my life was no exception. Don was a true friend in every sense of the word. He came to see me (he lives 3 hours away) and took me shopping against all my protests, but, at least now I had a few neccessities and was starting to feel HUMAN again. Even though I protested every item he bought, I was internally and eternally grateful. We had lunch that day and when we got back home he pulled more clothes out of the trunk of his car that he had bought himself because he knew I wouldn’t choose many items when we went shopping. This man is a true Angel. A kind and generous soul that I that has become such a part of my life.

I’m sharing today because I wanted to let you into MY life a little and share what friendship can mean to a person. I had the chance to have lunch with Don a couple of weeks ago and I was so thrilled to see him again! We ate and chatted for quite awhile and when it was time to go I was saddened but I left with a heart full of pure joy. I hope to do it again soon. Although he hates cameras I managed to snap a picture before we went our seperate ways.


My friend Don and me July 2013

Friendship can be a very special thing. It can get you through the hard times and it can be a celebration through the good times. I have learned through the years that friends come in all shapes, sizes, colors, and, yes, AGES. I feel God gave us friends just to have someone to share the special and not so special moments in our lives. Someone to lean on physically as we lean on Him spiritually and I am SO thankful!

What about you? Do you have a special friend you’d like to talk about? How important do you think friendship is in the scheme of life? Feel free to leave a comment and share your thoughts.
Leave a Reply

