Review: Holy Estrogen by Carol McLeod

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’); ga(‘create’, ‘UA-42381852-1’, ‘abookloversretreat.blogspot.com’); ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

null
Cover Rating:


Date Published: August 10, 2012
Pages: 224
Publisher: Harrison House Inc
Author: Carol McLeod
Genre: Christian Fiction, Women’s Fiction
ISBN-10: 1606833987
ISBN-13: 978-1606833988
Book Source: The book was provided by the publisher through Bookfun.org for my honest opinion.

Blurb:

Holy Estrogen is THE book for women. It will target your emotional fluctuations and challenge you to discover the purpose for which God gave us emotions. Did God really want women to live a roller coaster life ordered by some hormone that is absolutely out of your control? The truth is, God gave you estrogen so that you would be a woman fully alive inside and fully engaged with the life that He has given to you. Through this book, you will begin to live powerfully and learn what it means to be a woman who flourishes in all of life’s situations. You will learn to move beyond the pain, the disappointment, the fears and the princess persona and you will change your emotional clothes! Some chapters include: * OCD, Chicken Doo-Doo and Worship! * An Emotional Enemy * Fingernails on the Chalkboard of Life * Time for a Change * 1440 Reasons Why * Who Do You Mend a Broken Heart? * Earthly, Natural or Demonic? * It’s All About Me! And lots more.

You can purchase it Here:
Deeper Shopping  *  Amazon  *  Barnes & Noble  *  Christianbook.com  *  Parable.com   *  Family Christian  *  BAM





Author Bio:

Carol McLeod is an author and popular speaker at women’s conferences and retreats, where she teaches the Word of God with great joy and enthusiasm. She also host the highly successful Just Joy! outreaches. Carol encourages and empowers women with passionate and practical biblical messages mixed with her own special brand of hope and humor. Carol is the author of Defiant Joy! and The Rooms of a Woman’s Heart. Her teaching DVD The Rooms of a Woman’s Heart, won the Telly Award, for excellence in religious programming. She is a 1977 graduate of Oral Roberts University with a degree in Music and English. She is married to Craig McLeod, they serve as Senior Pastors of Life Church near Buffalo, NY.

You can find Carol Here:
Website  |  Facebook  |  Goodreads



Reflections:

“Many christians make the very same mistake as did our affluent farmer friend in the parable of Jesus. We continuously feed our soul and ration the nutrition of our spirit.”


If you have been guilty of this, raise your hand. I know mine is raised high above my head at the moment. Guilty as charged! Carol points out that by feeding your soul more than your spirit, your soul will grow out of control. This helped me to realize how devestating the outcome could be if I don’t nourish my spirit enough by feeding it the Word of God. Very eye-opening.


“However, a spirit that has known the strength and focus of a life lived wholeheartedly for christ will look at the past with this wisdom and peace, “I have not encountered one obstacle that hod has not used for His purposes. In every challenge and through every heartache, He has been with me.””


This quote really spoke to my heart. I am a testimony for this statement. No matter what I have been through in my life, God has carried me through to a victorious ending. This is such a powerful statement and really awakened my spirit to how truly Blessed I am.


“If you have a problem with fear and worry, I can tell you exactly where it care from! Women who have downloaded fear and worry onto their mental hard drive get their primary information from the devil himself. Ladies, let me be blunt here…you are listening to the wrong voice! You have bought the wrong newspaper! Put that gossip rag where it belongs…in the trashcan!You are accepting gifts from the wrong person! Change the channel! Press the mute button and open the Bible!”


Fear and worry…they can sure clutter your mind. I have struggled with both over the years and still do at times. Carol helped me to see they have no place in my life and only wear me down. Like dragging a suitcase full of baggage everywhere I go. If you’re battling worry and fear, this section of Holy Estrogen will certainly help you win the battle.


“If I was a doctor, and I supposed that I am…I am a doctor of the soul, so let me write you a prescription for loneliness. Give to someone else at least 3 times a day. Your loneliness will be cured when you are more concerned about someone else’s needs rather than your solitary life.”


This is a tip I will definitely take with me wherever I go. I sometimes get the “blahs”, as most people do. I enjoy giving as much as I can and love it when I manage to brighten someone’s day. This helped me to realize that when I’m giving, in whatever way, my loneliness scatters. I’m so caught up in the other person’s joy that I don’t feel the loneliness. This is a great tip that can be applied to the lives of everyone.



Synopsis:

Holy Estrogen is full of advice on how to give yourself over to God so He can help you overcome the daily stumbling blocks in your life. It’s very informative and Carol’s tips are spot-on. I also found it brought out several of my emotions. I was very touched and thought of special times with my own dad when she told the story of working in the garden with her dad. And I laughed out loud when she told the story of her friend, Kathy, and how she handled a situation with a thoughtless driver. Bottom line, Holy Estrogen is a very helpful, scriptural based book that packs quite a punch. If you need help battling and reigning in your emotions this book can do just that. It’s not just for women. Men can benefit from Carol’s advice just as easily. I would recommend it to anyone who battles such emotions as anger, fear or loneliness.



My Rating:



Leave a Reply

